Running for my Life: To Campus

Every morning during the week I wake up at approximately 7:00 am and walk to work. I work at the Student Activity Center in the early mornings and it is about a 15 minute walk from my house. I normally do not mind walking to campus in the daylight, it gives me an opportunity to listen to music and think about my day.

img-Off-duty-officers-to-patrol-Old-Louisville-as-part-of-crime-reduction-initiative.jpg

Like I said, I live fairly close to campus, on the outskirts of Old Louisville.

Last week as I was watching the evening news I learned about an eighth grader bringing two guns (one loaded) into his middle school. As I continued to listen closer I learned that this happened at the school that I walk past EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 9.54.11 AM.png

 

My mother is a huge proponent and subscriber to the “Louisville Crime Maps”. I normally get a weekly lecture about how I need to be more careful and aware of my surroundings when I am out and about in Louisville. After receiving ANOTHER RAVE alert last weekend I finally understand why she preaches the importance of being safe over and over and over to me.

IMG_3711.PNG

There are nice parts of Louisville, there are nice people in Louisville, but there is also a lot of crime and bad things that occur here as well. I should feel safe attending my University.

However, when my phone buzzes and I get a notification about another armed robbery a few blocks away from campus or my house, with no additional information I do not feel safe.

I appreciate the University utilizing the RAVE alert system, but I think that it is also their responsibility to update us on these dangerous situations, and give us more details after these occurrences. In the mean time while ULPD works on making campus great again, I think I will start running to school.

Leave a Reply

