Running for my Life: To Campus Pt. 2

Today I was glancing at my phone before one of my classes, scrolling through Twitter, the usual…when I came across an article from WLKY: “Woman urged to be vigilant after 2 sexual assaults near UofL”.

Sexual Assaults? What?Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 10.55.29 PM.png

I clicked on the link and began reading the article. I soon found out that 2 young women, one being a student at UofL, were held at gun point and sexually assaulted; one at 3rd and Gaulbert and the other at 7th and Shipp Ave on MONDAY.

There are many things wrong with this scenario, but to name a few:

  1. This is a vulgar act of violence, no one deserves to be treated this way.
  2. I live exactly 2 blocks away from 3rd and Gaulbert. Crime is happening way too close for comfort, and way to close to campus. College is supposed to be safe; this is slowly dwindling away at the University of Louisville.
  3. WHY ARE WE JUST FINDING OUT ABOUT THIS 3 DAYS AFTER IT HAPPENED. There was not a RAVE alert sent out, no warning to avoid areas, absolutely nothing.
  4.  The title of this article: “Woman urged to be vigilant after 2 sexual assaults near UofL” …Really?  Maybe instead we should urge people not to sexually assault others?

 

Screen Shot 2016-09-15 at 10.58.19 PM.png

At approximately 6:09pm this evening I received an email from the university issuing a “crime notification” that this incident occurred on Wednesday… so which is it? Monday or Wednesday?

They also, so ever kindly, provided tips on “what to do/not do during and after a sexual assault or burglary occurs” and “suggestions that may help prevent you from becoming the victim of a sexual assault or robbery”. Gee Thanks ULPD!!!
screen-shot-2016-09-15-at-10-55-47-pm

 

This is the bottom line:

 

Increasing in Louisville, whether its gang or drug related is honestly irrelevant to me. What is relevant, however, is that I do not feel safe. I do not feel safe walking through campus, walking home, walking through parking lots, and even getting out of my car in a public place alone.

I have common sense: I avoid the sketchy areas that young women like myself should not be in, but what happens when these areas become where I live, where I work, and where I learn.

I am looking forward to talking with ULPD about their thoughts on this situation, because quite frankly, I am not impressed.

Leave a Reply

