Sprinting to the Finish Line

Lately, I feel like I have had a lot of deadlines… a lot of procrastination… a lot of “ends”.Between schoolwork, internships, and training for my next race I have been very overwhelmed. I think a lot of it has to do with it being senior year.

Today I had a huge realization: that after four months of hard work, my internship is quickly coming to an end. Like you already know, I intern for the St James Court Art Show, and today was Setup Day

.IMG_4065.PNGSetup day is a very hectic day. All of the streets get shut down, all of the artists come into town, and literally no one has a clue of what is going on. I mean can honestly say I have never seen more U-hauls in one area at a time.

POURING rain. Food vendors are setting up, Police are patrolling, artists are bickering, it honestly is pretty entertaining until the “hate emails” come into your inbox…. Note: Artists are not friendly people…

I set up 48 cardboard recycling boxes, assisted with artist and volunteer check-in, and rode around in a golf cart pretending like i knew what was going on. After this I attended KASA’s St James Court Art Show Pre Party at the Muhammad Ali Center downtown. It was a very long day. So I went home and decided that I should probably check my email before day 1 begins.

Boy was that a mistake.

IMG_4062.PNGI am in charge of media interviews with the local news. I have spent weeks coordinating with local stations and artists and assigning media interview slots for them.

Today they were reminded of their time slot and so many of them decided to flake. So tomorrow when I arrive at St James Court at 4:30am I am hoping that there is someone to talk to the cameras, because it certainly will NOT be me. Prayers appreciated

Stay tuned to see how the sIMG_4064.PNGhow goes…if I don’t run away first:)

Leave a Reply

